2012 AbsolutelyGospel Awards handed out

AbsolutelyGospel handed out the 2012 AGM Awards last night in a live ceremony including performances from many of the nominees. They have not posted a list of awards on their site yet, and my work schedule today ruled out staying up late to watch the stream. But, from comments on social media, winners included:

  • Professional Songwriter of the Year: Kenna Turner West
  • Performing Songwriters of the Year: Sonya & Becky Isaacs
  • Female Vocalist of the Year: Libbi Perry Stuffle
  • Traditional Song of the Year: “Celebrate Me Home” (Perrys)
  • Song of the Year: “On the Banks of the Promised Land” (Karen Peck & New River, written by Sue C. Smith, David Moffitt, and Jason Dyba)
  • Progressive Song of the Year: “On the Banks of the Promised Land” (Karen Peck & New River)
  • Progressive Album of the Year: Booth Brothers
  • Mixed Group of the Year: Karen Peck & New River
  • Fan Favorite Artist of the Year: Karen Peck & New River
  • Susan Unthank Memorial Award: Karen Peck
  • Male Group of the Year: Triumphant Quartet
  • Musician of the Year: Madison Easter
  • Best Live Performer: Booth Brothers
  • Traditional Album of the Year: Somebody’s Coming (Gold City)
  • Country Song of the Year: “Hear My Heart” (Jeff & Sheri Easter)
  • Album of the Year: Why Can’t We (Isaacs)
  • Country Album of the Year: Why Can’t We (Isaacs)
  • Engineer: Terry Thompson / Scott Godsey (tie)
  • Special Event Project: Christmas Must Be Tonight, Three Bridges

UPDATE: Here’s the complete list. [EDIT, 2/21/13: Broken Link Removed.]

For more Southern Gospel news and commentary—follow our RSS feed or sign up for our email updates!

3 Letters to the Editor

Southern Gospel Journal welcomes letters to the editor. We will post the most thoughtful and insightful submissions. Ground rules: Don't attack or belittle groups or fellow posters, or advance heresies rejected by orthodox Christianity. Do keep comments positive, constructive, and on topic.
  1. We watched it in it’s entirety. It was enjoyable – especially the music performances. It would be interesting to have a tally on how many votes were cast for each award that was given.

  2. Male vocalist of the year was Doug Anderson

    • Thanks! I updated the post with a link to the full winner list, which is now released.