Songlist for Gaither Hymns DVDs

There has been more buzz about the Gaither Hymns DVDs than any other Homecoming in recent memory. With 200+ singers present, there were more musicians on this set than any other in recent memory–possibly ever.

There has been some speculation over what the final songlist would be–which songs would make the cut and which wouldn’t. It took some sleuthing, but I finally obtained a copy of the songlist.

Other than to note in passing that I’m disappointed that the Blackwood Brothers’ rendition of “Rock of Ages” didn’t make the cut, I’ll withhold comment. Here’s the songlist for your your perusal:

Amazing Grace

  1. Amazing Grace – Featuring Buddy Greene On Harmonica, Russ Taff & The Booth Brothers
  2. God Of Our Fathers – Faturing Shane McConnell
  3. Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing – Featuring Buddy Greene & Jeff Taylor
  4. Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior – Featuring Allen Asbury
  5. Tell Me The Story Of Jesus/I Love To Tell The Story – Featuring Charlotte Richie & Ivan Parker
  6. At Calvary – Featuring Lynda Randle & Jessy Dixon
  7. Love Lifted Me – Featuring Kim Hopper
  8. Just A Little Talk With Jesus – Featuring Brenda Lee
  9. Hymns Of The Cross Medley – Featuring Acoustix
  10. I Need Thee Every Hour/I Need Thee – Featuring Randy Owen & The Isaacs
  11. If We Never Meet Again – Featuring The Booth Brothers
  12. Jesus Paid It All – Featuring Ivan Parker
  13. Then Jesus Came – Featuring Larry Wayne Morbitt
  14. I Surrender All – Featuring The Isaacs
  15. Burdens Are Lifted At Calvary – Featuring Ladye Love Smith
  16. I Then Shall Live – Featuring Gaither Vocal Band And Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
  17. The Lord’s Prayer – Featuring The Homecoming Friends

How Great Thou Art

  1. How Great Thou Art – Featuring Reggie Smith, Shane McConnell & Gene McDonald
  2. Down At The Cross – Featuring TaRanda Greene & The Hayes Family
  3. Shall We Gather At The River – Featuring Buddy Greene & Jeff Taylor
  4. God Leads Us Along – Featuring Reggie & Ladye Love Smith & Joy Gardner
  5. God Will Take Care Of You – Featuring The Oak Ridge Boys
  6. What A Friend We Have In Jesus – Featuring Larry Ford
  7. It Is Well With My Soul – Featuring Wintley Phipps
  8. Fairest Lord Jesus – Featuring Janet Paschal
  9. I’d Rather Have Jesus – Featuring The Crabb Family
  10. O How I Love Jesus – Featuring The Homecoming Friends
  11. Great Is Thy Faithfuness – Featuring Wes Hampton
  12. There Is A Fountain Filled With Blood – Featuring David Phelps
  13. What A Precious Friend Is He – Featuring Lily Fern Weatherford
  14. Since Jesus Came Into My Heart – Featuring Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
  15. Leaning On The Everlasting Arms – Featuring Solveig Henderson
  16. Thank You – Featuring Ivan Parker

So what do you think of the final song selection? Do you think the videos will live up to the buzz?

Do the newly appearing artists make this a new direction for the Homecoming Videos? Or is this video more of the same, with the new faces being primarily part of the choir?

Note: I know I said I wasn’t going to throw in any other comment, but the songs with previously appearing artists could have turned out better because they are more used to the video format and were less nervous. Now, back to your thoughts…

For more about —and other Southern Gospel news and commentary—follow our RSS feed or sign up for our email updates!