CD Review: Faith to Believe (Mike & Kelly Bowling)

Rating: 4 stars (of 5)

Producer: Mike Bowling.

Song List: Your Cries Have Awoken the Master; It’s Alright; I’ve Never Walked Alone; God’s Not Through With You; Oh How Sweet is the Victory; Notified; A Miracle Today; I Never Shall Forget the Day; I Have Faith; The Only One; Keep Breathing; We Have a Savior.

Available from: Artist, CBD.

* * *

Mike Bowling got his start in Southern Gospel in 1995, singing with the New Hinsons. He moved to the Perrys and sang there for several years before becoming a soloist and touring with the Crabb Family. During the Crabb Family’s final year or two, he started his own group, the Mike Bowling Group, and went through several iterations of that group before the Crabbs disbanded and his wife Kelly (Crabb) Bowling joined the group. Though they are a trio (with Jeff Snyder as the third vocalist), they decided to re-brand the group as Mike & Kelly Bowling. This is their first release since re-branding the group.

The album has already done well for the group, producing two #1 hits, “We Have a Savior” (December 2007) and “Your Cries Have Awoken the Master” (August 2008).

The songs come from a strong list of contributors: Marcia Henry (“God’s Not Through With You”), Carrol McGruder (“We Have a Savior”), Rebecca Isaacs Bowman and Sonya Isaacs (“Your Cries Have Awoken the Master” and “A Miracle Today”), Sue Smith, and several others. Mike & Kelly Bowling co-wrote one of the tracks (with Sue Smith as a third contributor), “I Have Faith.”

Mike Bowling produced and arranged this project. One gets the impression this is exactly the album he wanted to make; with an artistic vision and capability this strong at the helm of the group, don’t be surprised to see the Mike Bowling Group at the forefront of country / progressive Southern Gospel for years to come.

For more about —and other Southern Gospel news and commentary—follow our RSS feed or sign up for our email updates!

5 Letters to the Editor

Southern Gospel Journal welcomes letters to the editor. We will post the most thoughtful and insightful submissions. Ground rules: Don't attack or belittle groups or fellow posters, or advance heresies rejected by orthodox Christianity. Do keep comments positive, constructive, and on topic.
  1. I think they’re current sound is really serving them well. I love this new CD. “Your Cries Have Awoken the Master” is just brilliant. They sing it beautifully. And coming from the Isaacs ladies, the writing is no doubt a surperior quality.

  2. Great review Daniel.

  3. Mike got his professional start with The LeFevres when he was 16 years old – and then moved on to the New Hinsons.

    Also the Mike Bowling Group only had two incarnations – the original (which consisted of Mike, his brother Jeff, sister-in-law Kim, and cousin Karen) and this current trio that eventually renamed themselves as Mike & Kelly Bowling. There was a time when the Mike Bowling Group had some fill-ins (such as Amanda Crabb), but that was just while the group was regrouping after the departure of the original members.

  4. Daniel, I just purchased this off of iTunes about two weeks ago. I haven’t gotten to listen to it much, but the songs I have heard were great! I’m glad to see Mike producing country SG music.

  5. Daniel,
    I can’t begin to say how the song “Your cries have woken the Master” has touched my life. My sister gave me this cd and WOW. In sept 2007 I lost my husband to and auto accident. We were married for 15 short years. There are times I feel I don’t have faith but then I’m reminded He has hear my cry and I am holding on to the savoir with all of my might. Then his peace and grace come over me to gone on one more day.
    God Bless
    Loretta B
    Gueydan, Louisiana